Listening to: A Song For David – Joan Baez

The top 10 most played songs on my iPod:

1. Road, River and Rail – The Cocteau Twins (14)
2. Something So Wild – Bettie Serveert (13)
3. Shoplifting – The Slits (12)
4. Princess – Dressy Bessy (8)
5. I Don’t Want to Grow Up – The Ramones (8)
6. Love und Romance – The Slits (8)
7. Capri Pants – Bikini Kill (7)
8. I Like Fucking – Bikini Kill (7)
9. I Fought the Angels – The Delgados (7)
10. Set Out Running – Neko Case and Her Boyfriends (7)

(There are a couple of others with a count of 7, but I have quite a lot around the 7/6/5 mark and I can’t list them all.)

I don’t know if this is necessarily indicative of my musical taste at the moment. I suppose it is. I have been getting stuck in strange ruts with my iPod, because it never shuffles things quite the way I want it to and I end up going back to things I know I’ll like in an attempt to get things back on track. The list is certainly indicative of the fact that I mostly listen to the iPod in the car on the way to work, and in the kitchen when I’m making dinner (so I go back to things I know the words to).

There is a huge long list of things that my iPod has never played. I wish its shuffling were more random.

I guess my obsession with this song predates my iPod (which has, apparently, only played it three times). (Joan Baez has always been very big in our house, and is probably best listened to on record, anyway.) I think it’s terribly romantic, even though ultimately it didn’t come true (David was in prison for draft-dodging, and their marriage ended shortly after he got out). It brings out the most adolescent day-dreaminess in me.

I have had such a nice time over the last few days, pottering around the house and the town and relaxing by necessity in this godawful heat. They all just came back from Melbourne about five minutes ago, so I’m feeling kind of peeved that my peace and quiet and free reign over the house have come to and end, but that’s okay. I took pictures of my weekend, which I’ll upload after playing about with WordPress a bit more.

