Listening to: Parentheses – The Blow

I saw The Holiday the other day, because I’m not getting nearly enough work and I am bored out of my head. It sucked. Really hard. There is a really good blog entry here (which is a response to another good blog entry) about its embodiment of the attractiveness double standard in Hollywood, but that was only one of my complaints. Kate Winslet’s character makes all these ridiculous statements about the lack of well-written and gutsy female characters in modern cinema, whilst being a simpering idiot. Cameron Diaz’s character’s social and romantic dysfunctionality is used to off-set and make less threatening the fact that she is an incredibly successful businesswoman (which is a boring convention in itself – the level of wealth and privilege in this film makes the whole thing so uninteresting). And it snows in Surrey for the entire fortnight surrounding Christmas!

Mainstream films invariably offend me. I should’ve stuck to my post-Wedding Crashers vow not to watch them anymore.

Has anyone seen Volver? I think I’m the only person left in the world who hasn’t yet. That’s this week’s project. It has received unanimously excellent reviews in my house.

In other news, I finally altered and made wearable this very cool black velvet skirt that’s been sitting in my basket for a year and a half (it used to be bizarrely and exaggeratedly teardrop-shaped). But where does one wear luxuriously soft black velvet pencil skirts? It is now the one item of clothing I own that seems too fancy for everyday.

I am a little bit obsessed with The Blow at the moment. I’m sure I’ll be sick of them soon, but they are very good for dancing around the kitchen to.

