Listening to: Trenchtown Rock – Bob Marley and the Wailers

I’ve just discovered that The Guardian has a craft page. It’s a bit “hey, let’s jump on this bandwagon!” and some (most) of the projects are irritatingly simple, but I do like this Stormproof Outdoor Chandelier (a mobile made of hanging tealights in babyfood jars).

I have put The Brothers Karamazov on hold for a bit (I do like it, but I think it’s probably a bit like Proust – you need some sort of long convalescence [like a broken leg] to really appreciate it [says she who is only just coming to the end of a long summer holiday]. I’m a couple of hundred pages in and nothing has actually happened yet, which is fine, but it doesn’t suit my current reading habits. I will pick it back up later this year) and am digging into my collection of Virago Modern Classics. Clash by Ellen Wilkinson at the moment – first published in 1929, and oh, I think this is my favourite time period. It’s not great literature (it’s not very subtle, and it’s very clearly written to get a point across rather than to glory in the English language), but it is engaging and fascinating to read. I’ve also recently reread The Commitments (my favourite Roddy Doyle book – his other stuff is fine, but I don’t love it the way I love this one [and Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha]). Do you think I could get away with introducing “Janey!” and “rapid” into my vocabulary?

Does anyone else have trouble playing public library DVDs that have been security stripped (i.e. have magnetic lines stuck to the disc somehow)? I can’t get more than 20 minutes into anything anymore without my DVD player spitting the dummy, and I think that’s the reason. We have gotten a fair few complaints since we started stripping them at my library, but the library doesn’t care whether they can be played as long as nobody steals them. Argh.

The Adelaide Film Festival is starting soon, which is quite exciting! So far, I am definitely going to see Grbavica and Jestem, but there are lots of others that look quite interesting. Also, one of the judges of the Natuzzi Award is Mick Harvey!

