Listening to: I’m Gonna Be An Engineer – Peggy Seeger

Heavens to Betsy. I just wrote the longest parenthetical paragraph ever and finally had to give up because it is five minutes past midnight and I meant to go to bed an hour ago and I suddenly realised that the sentence I was in the middle of was so long that I had forgotten where it began and realised that it probably wouldn’t be much fun to read – oh, dear, will this sentence meet the same fate? So perhaps I will return to that in the next few days – it was tangentially related to the talk we saw Jessamyn West (see also Wikipedia) give at the State Library on Tuesday, and also to International Women’s Day (hey!) and blogging against sexism – this is such poor form, but I can only refer you to the blogging against sexism of others because I have been at work all day and into the evening and have otherwise been mulling over ideas for the resource centre, which is where I got into that whole mess with the long sentences and the confusingly punctuated paragraphs. So I would have blogged against sexism, but if I try to see that train of thought to its conclusion, I won’t get any sleep, and then I won’t be of any use when I’m at the resource centre tomorrow, and then I’ll miss my chance to actually do something semi-practical about sexism (part of which is going to be creating a new website – hopefully our new copy of Dreamweaver will have arrived in the post by tomorrow, and we can start figuring out how to use it!).

I’m sorry. It’s been a long day (not in a bad way, just in a my-brain-is-tired way).

Womad starts tomorrow night – I wasn’t going to go (so dedicated am I to getting to Melbourne sometime in this half of the year! I’m even working two shifts this weekend) but my dad bought me a ticket, and I couldn’t pass that up. I’m quite excited.

I hope all is well with you, gentle reader.

