Listening to: It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding) – Bob Dylan

While I am photo-ing, here are some recent things:

Quote from Gone-Away Lake by Elizabeth Enright (1957)

This is what I’m working on whilst listening to people at Womad. It’s a quote from Gone-Away Lake by Elizabeth Enright, one of my favourite books when I was a kid. I’m hoping to finish it while I still have tooth-braces of my own (it’s going to be the lid of a bag).

Lime cheesecake with chocolate swirl

Cheesecake! It’s just Soy King creamcheese mixed with Aeroplane Quick Set jelly (which is absolutely disgusting – I had to tinker with it quite a bit to get a decent flavour, and won’t be using it again even if it is vegan – it tastes like washing up liquid. I recommend the seaweed stuff from your local Asian supermarket instead), marbled with chocolate (melted and mixed with a bit of soymilk) on a digestive biscuit base. It’s not quite as good as, say, a real lemon cheesecake (i.e. sans jelly), which will be my next trick (except that I am swearing off cane sugar for a while after this weekend), but it was quick, easy, and satisfied the cheesecake craving I’ve had since I was in Manchester a couple of years ago. (I only recently discovered that Soy King is, in fact, vegan, and have been a little bit obsessed with it ever since.)

I hope there's nothing embarrassing on that section of my bookcase.

Gathered skirts! Actually, this one’s stalled a bit because I am putting off the arduous task of hemming it. My dressmaker’s dummy’s been standing guard there in the corner for a couple of weeks now, taking up my last remaining bit of floorspace. The skirt’s inside out; its outer layer is navy blue. I’ve been sticking to plain colours, but have been inspired by all the patterns at Womad this weekend and I think I’ll bust out the vintage sheets again for my next creation.

