On reflection, maybe that last post was unfair. The resource centre is what it is, and makes some people really happy, and what I’m really frustrated about is that I don’t have the money to set up another library that follows my own politics exactly. And of course, if people need women-only space to feel comfortable, then it should be available to them.

I just feel frustrated that any talk of gender equity seems to get relegated to these little nooks and crannies like our library, when I want it to be out there, in the world, all the time. Like, we have these great non-sexist kids’ books from the ’70s, and no one ever borrows them. There is nothing remotely like them in my public library – I didn’t even know such things existed until I came to the resource centre – and that’s really sad.

I still think essentialism is stupid.

