Listening to: Alone With You – The Sunnyboys

(I’m never sure if there’s supposed to be a comma there or not. I guess there’s not, but I like to think of it as ambiguous.)

A couple of craft links:

Nikki-Shell’s blog, which led me to Wardrobe Refashion (which I think might interest you especially, Rad, and it’s Melburnian in origin).

And… actually, these have all come from the same place, and if you follow the first link, you’ll find the rest, but there’s this Guardian article on green sewing.

Also, I finally bought an Adbusters magazine, after idly flicking through them in newsagencies for the last couple of years, and I really like it. It’s the March/April issue, so it’s probably about to be replaced, but there are at least a couple of really good articles (I’m still reading it; I’m sure there are more than that), which – oh! They’re online! Okay, one about consumerism/individualism:

The reality is that many young people don’t take consumerism seriously because they feel that as individuals, it does not affect them. As media activists like Jean Kilbourne have argued, this illusion that advertising affects “everybody else but me” is nothing new, but I think this is even more the case with Generation Y. Students claim violence in the media doesn’t matter because they grew up playing Doom and they didn’t turn out violent. Or they claim that unrealistic images of women in the media do matter because they know a lot of girls with eating disorders. Many young people don’t seem to have a language for understanding that the media doesn’t just affect us on an individual level – the media impacts society politically, economically, and ideologically.

And one about us:

And so today, the lucky country is no longer so lucky, but, rather in the midst of a diverse environmental crisis, a drought of both water and progressive political leadership. It is certainly true that many ordinary Australians are outraged by the wrong turn their country has taken over the past decade. Yet underneath the Australian crisis lies a more fundamental question, one that has plagued the country since its founding: what is an Australian? Is it merely a geographically displaced European, a white, Anglo-Saxon tied by blood, history, and tradition to England or Europe? Is it a recent immigrant to a land that really belongs to the aboriginal peoples who settled it tens of thousands of years ago? Is it a recent arrival from neighboring Southeast Asia, where the culture and customs are quite different from the West?

That one was really interesting to me, because I don’t read local newspapers (because they’re crap), so I miss out on reading about Australia most of the time. Can anyone recommend some good, thoughtful sources of Australian political analysis and debate? The Guardian has its faults, but I guess that’s really what I’m looking for, in Australian form. Or any decent blogs. Or anything.

