Listening to: The Stranger Song – Leonard Cohen

(Watch closely at about the 4:52 mark: such commitment!)

Hello! Pictures ahead, but first – I finally saw Leonard Cohen: I’m Your Man on Saturday. Oh, lordy, it was wonderful. I’m always quite reluctant to go to concert films (which is why, even though I’d quite like to see it in theory because there are cool people in it, I have never seen The Last Waltz, for example), but this was just great. Except for Bono and (The) Edge. Is Bono consciously parodying himself? His presence in the film was really jarring, although funny because he’s such a wanker. Anyway, there were otherwise no disappointments – Leonard Cohen has aged beautifully and was a wonderful interview subject, and the concert footage was surprisingly affecting (some bits more than others – Teddy Thompson has a pretty voice but doesn’t quite live up to his “Like Father, Like Son” T-shirt).

I technically still have one more assignment to go, but I’m already in holiday mode (which is okay – I think I have things under control). So I spent my Sunday making toasted muesli:

Not, as the label suggests, cornflour.

It’s based on this recipe, but I made a few modifications.
Dad’s going through a non-muesli-eating phase, so I used his homemade muesli – this was great, except that there was dried fruit in it, and the recipe said the dried fruit had to be added after the toasting (to stop it burning, I suppose – very sensible). So I decided to pick it out –

Bloody currants.

– which only took me two or three hours. (I’m sure it says a lot about me that I didn’t really find this boring, and enjoyed the chance to listen to some records.) Anyway, you can start from scratch – these are the ingredients I used:

Flakes:

2 parts good quality rolled oats
2 parts barley flakes
1 part rye flakes

Seeds and things:

handful of linseed
handful of pumpkin seeds
handful of sunflower seeds
handful of sesame seeds
two handfuls of coconut flakes
two handfuls of raw nuts – mainly almonds and pecans, plus a few hazelnuts and brazils
two-ish teaspoons of cinnamon
one ground cardamom pod

Wet stuff:

1/2 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup grapeseed oil
a very generously-heaped tablespoon of peanut butter
some vanilla extract

Fruit (added after it all comes out of the oven):
handful and a half of sultanas

Because my computer isn’t connected to the printer at the moment, I had scribbled down the basic method on a scrap of paper, and made a couple of mistakes trying to follow it. First I almost forgot the spices, then I toasted the dry ingredients for about twenty minutes before it dawned on me that I was supposed to add the wet stuff and then toast the whole lot (didn’t seem to hurt the muesli at all, though).

Anyway, I’ve had it for two breakfasts now, and it is sweet and crunchy and delicious.

Finally, any suggestions for what to do with these?:

More avocadoes than you can poke a stick at.

They’re fabulous as they are, of course, but besides lots of salad and guacamole and pizza topping, what can one do with thirteen avocadoes?

