Listening to: Deep in the Woods – The Birthday Party

I have a rotten cold (I’m at the Great Hacking Cough stage), and have been doing lots of reading and knitting. I finished The L-Shaped Room, and have started A Confederacy of Dunces (I haven’t looked too closely at that Wikipedia entry because I don’t want to spoil myself; I hope it’s okay).

Rad, how are your socks going? After knitting a fair bit of leg, I found that I couldn’t get my Jaywalker over my stupidly big foot. I bought Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Knitting Without Tears while I was wandering around Melbourne city last week killing time before heading to the airport and I’m now a convert to measuring everything (gauge swatches!), so I’ve switched to Knitty’s Universal Toe-Up sock pattern and am having much more success (although still confusing myself a bit with all the wrapping and turning). The lesson here is: don’t be afraid of maths! It comes in peace. Also – fabric knit on 2mm needles takes forever to materialise, but is gorgeously dense.

Melbourne was fabulous, and Rad and I made good use of our two and two-halves days (I know that looks wrong, but eh): the Guggenheim Collection at the National Gallery of Victoria (such a great a exhibition – if you have a chance to go, it’s there until October and completely worth seeing), the State Library, Craft Victoria for the scarf exhibition, the Vegie Bar in Brunswick Street, Clubland (the movie – I really enjoyed it), Vegan Wares for shoes, Macro Wholefoods, gorgeous houses, lovely smoke-free pubs (such a well-timed trip!), trams… I should go there more often. Thank you so much, Rad.

I have my marks back from last semester, and I passed – overall, a Credit and a Distinction, so I can’t complain (although I will – do we get a chance to give feedback at some point?). One semester of coursework to go! Whoo!

I have my first yoga class this evening, so I’d best gather up some loose-fitting clothing and get myself ready.

