Listening to: Sundown Sundown – Mick Harvey and Sarah Blasko

Rad, this one’s for you: how to make knitting needle bangles (link courtesy of Craftzine). Oh, and I meant to ask – what are you knitting that’s lacy?

I saw Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix this afternoon, at the Capri. I haven’t reread the book since it first came out, so I’m not entirely clear on what was left out, but it felt very slight. It was enjoyable, but then suddenly it was over and I felt like nothing had actually happened yet. And they have this fantastic cast (not only David Thewlis, Emma Thompson, Helena Bonham Carter and the like, but also the kids who play Ginny and Neville and the rest of the DA) who are lucky if they get a line, or more than a minute of screentime. But that’s okay – it’s the books I really like, and I mainly watch the films for the set design, and to see the casting decisions (I think they’ve done really well there, for the most part, even if the actors are then under-utilised). Dolores Umbridge’s room was pretty much worth the price of the ticket in itself. I wish they had cast someone taller to play Harry (I’m rereading The Half-Blood Prince and Mrs Weasley’s commenting on Ron and Harry’s growth spurts, and it’s so distracting how everyone towers over Daniel Radcliffe in the films), but I guess it’s too late to worry about it now.

And this one’s for me (and then no more YouTube for a while, I promise! But this is what one does when one’s off sick):

I borrowed the Rockwiz Duets CD from work, and I love it. And I’m sure I’ve mentioned my Mick Harvey crush before.

