Listening to: Parents Just Don’t Understand – DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince

Very quick update: I have a new job! I chose the public library one in the end, although it was a hard decision. I think it’s probably the best place for me, despite the long commute, and I’m pleased if a little bit freaked out by the weight of expectation (sure, I can ace a couple of job interviews, but can I actually do the job? What if they regret being so nice to me? What if I miss the bus? What if I miss the bus more than once? Will all the stuff I said in the interview about the importance of informed democracy suddenly ring hollow? Oh, dear). I’m looking forward to regular hours, and I really do like the library and the people.

Accepting this job meant turning down the other one, which was excruciating. But it’s what people do, right? You can’t just apply for one job at a time and hope for the best. (I’m such a wimp.)

