Listening to: The Devil – PJ Harvey

I took myself out for lunch today (Thea Tea House, Gawler Place), and had a lovely afternoon flitting around the shops. I had a Country Road voucher, so I bought a red cotton cardigan and then headed over to the button shop in Regent Arcade (or is it Adelaide Arcade?) to get some more interesting buttons (clear dark blue glittery plastic). Buttons are expensive!

I also bought White Chalk by PJ Harvey – I like it, and it’s nice and piano-y and pretty, but it’s also a little bit boring. I like PJ Harvey immensely (Dry and Rid of Me are two of the most exciting albums I’ve ever heard, and I like the subsequent stuff well enough), but she’s kind of singing about nothing these days. It’s all ether and oak trees and darkness and blah, blah, blah, and the tunes kind of meander quietly and then stop. Nothing grabs you like “Lick my legs, I’m on fire” or fallen women in dancing costumes or big bone-shaking winds, but – whatever. This is still okay.

I was going to get something for dinner from Sushi Train in Rundle Street, but they didn’t have anything vegetarian left by 4.00 pm (I have developed a real thing for sundried tomato sushi lately, and they do other nice fillings, too), so I bought some Haigh’s dark chocolate peppermint pastilles instead (and made steamed vegetables and quinoa for dinner when I got home). I love having this week off between jobs (I hope the weather remains this deliciously cool! I thought the heatwave would never end). I have about seven knitting projects on the go, and am working my way through Big Love and the second season of Weeds on DVD. I’m still trying to settle on something to read – I pared that other reading list down to The night watch by Sergei Lukyanenko, but then I had to return it to the library before I got to the end and I can’t quite bring myself to start anything else yet. I have Elizabeth Taylor’s The devastating boys on standby for bus stops, etc.

I have been spending a ridiculous amount of time on Ravelry lately – more time than I’ve actually spent knitting. The pattern browser is so addictive! I am trying to stay away from the yarn browser, because that’s just madness.

I hope you are all well!

