Listening to: Rock Radio – Kristeen Young

Make these pineapple upside-down cakes. (Oh – I always make them as cupcakes, not as one big cake.) They are always, always amazing, and are incredibly easy (and kitsch!).

– You know all those arguments you have at uni about the appropriateness of offensive materials in public libraries? We get the International Express at work, and it makes my skin crawl. One came through returns yesterday that screamed MUSLIM CLERICS TO TEACH OUR CHILDREN (“Latest barmy plan by Schools Minister Ed Balls”), and Laura Woodhouse at the F Word points to this charming headline. I wish it wasn’t (“weren’t”? I’ve gone back and forth on that one; it looks funny) so popular. (But if it hadn’t been available in my library, I would never have realised how acceptable that shit still is in some sectors of the community. Ha! Freedom of information wins again, even though sometimes people are just gross.) I always return them to the bottom of the pile when shelving (would it be terribly censorious if I hid them all behind the coffee machine?), but then there’s something worse waiting to make its way to the top. Argh. (ETA: I’ve just listened to a Guardian Media podcast about the Express agreeing to pay the parents of Madeleine McCann half a million pounds without contest for completely fabricating something like a hundred stories about them over the past year, so ha.)

– Rad, this is where my vinyl bag came from (except that they don’t seem to do the Stylus version anymore, so I snagged mine from Buy Olympia).

(Speaking of bags, I’ve just seen this one on Etsy and I really like it.)

– Oh, fellow Baby-Sitters Club readers, this blog is amazing. (After the first few books, I always skipped Chapter 2 except for the descriptions of Claudia and Stacey’s outfits. In Year 6, when school uniform wasn’t really required anymore, I based a lot of my fashion choices on that influence [and the fact that it was 1992]. Parrot earrings with sailor dresses, lycra leggings with over-sized jumpers…good times, man.)

– I was extolling the virtues of Whoopi Goldberg recently, and stuff like this is the reason why (please allow for the fact that it is a clip from The View, which, as far as I can tell, is essentially pretty vapid [and I believe Elizabeth Hasselbeck is known for being their token right wing idiot]):

Also, Kimya Dawson loves her [3:25]:

– I have just started knittting this. When, oh, when will I finish something?

Eh, I should go to bed. Good night, people.

