Listening to: Samantha Secret Agent – The All-Girl Summer Fun Band

My new favourite thing is the BBC Pronunciation Unit’s brief but fabulous blog, and the BBC Editors’ blogs in general.

Also, three Guardian articles I have read today:

  • Antony and the Johnsons light up 2009I am a Bird Now didn’t set my world on fire, but I thought Antony’s performance of If It Be Your Will in I’m Your Man was incredibly beautiful. I like him.
  • The woman with a tiny carbon footprint – The Joan Pick article mentioned by Antony Hegarty above. I like her, too.
  • ‘What happens in war happens’ – Emma Brockes’s interview with Lynndie England. Not such a big fan of hers, but it’s an interesting article nonetheless. Who is this person?
  • I am having a lovely day, hanging out washing, sitting in the backyard reading Kate Lopresti’s Constant Rider zine, eating bits and pieces from the garden (our blueberry bush is producing a handful of fruit or so every day, and our nectarines are almost ripe and earlier I had a cherry tomato), popping inside to skip a song on the iPod and read something on the internet. It’s very relaxing.

    My uncle and his partner were staying here for the past week or so, and I actually quite enjoyed their being here for the most part, but it’s nice to have the house to myself again. (My mum came back from Bali and went straight to Tasmania for a week.)

